Obaseki raises panel, gives two-week timeline in cabinet-nominees screening

Mr. Godwin Obaseki, the governor of Edo State, convened a 15-man committee on Tuesday to examine political nominees for his cabinet.

During the inauguration at Government House in Benin City, Obaseki encouraged the committee, which is chaired by Prof. Dennis Agbonlahhor, to deliver its findings by July 15, 2021.

Members of the Committee include Gen. Airende (retd.), Abass Yakubu, Bayo Ogedengbe, Abubakar Mustapha, Akhere Ugbesia, Prof. Okogbo Felix and M.I. Ijeghede.

Others are Osayamwanbor Agbons, Matthew Iduoriyekemwen, Dr Bob Osazee, Prof. Maureen Isoken Ebomoyi, Prof. Ahmed Uwubamwen, Hillary Otsu and Pastor Osagiede Joseph.

He said, “We have passed that stage where people just come into the government for the sake of it; you are coming for a purpose and must be equipped to deliver on that purpose.

“We have gone round the state and asked wards and local governments to submit nominations. We have collected names and received petitions from some people expressing how happy or unhappy they were; we have received all of these and passed them on to you.

Read Also: Recapitalisation: Microfinance banks assets rise to N1.01tn

“When you make your recommendations, we then select those that we need to select; we are running a very transparent selection process. I don’t have one name; the people have gone through the process.

“We have a lot of trust and confidence that you will do a great job for us. We believe that in the next two to three weeks, you will come with what we can work with.”

The chairman of the committee, Agbonlahor said, “We will try as much as possible to deliver on our mandate within the stipulated time.”

Add Comment

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: